Today at IPL 2022, SRH vs PBKS: Knocked out of the playoffs race, both teams look to end season on a high

The Indian Premier League has reached its business end and we are in the final group stage game of the season, to be played between SunRisers Hyderabad and Punjab Kings. A dead rubber, since both teams have been knocked out from the playoffs race, both teams can only hope to give the fans a good show and pray for a smooth transition going into the next season. The match, scheduled to be played in the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, will be the 70th game of the 74-match long tournament and the teams will finally say goodbye to Mumbai after spending the last couple of months in the western coast of the country.

Table of Contents

What’s at Stake?

Punjab Kings and SunRisers Hyderabad walked into the auction with very different philosophies. While, Punjab rehauled their entire set-up with elite hitters, SunRisers changed their identity to a top heavy to a middle order powerhouse. SRH gave up their trusted lieutenants in the auctions, putting up David Warner, Rashid Khan and Jonny Bairstow for sale, hoping to build a new generation of heroes.

For Punjab, the fight is about identity. Does the ultra aggressive approach work in the modern T20 game? Or should they just take a step back like common logic dictates.

For SRH, the debate is if they should move away from Kane Williamson and hand the reins to a younger and more dynamic player, or should they just go back to their old ways that gave them consistency.

Form Guide

W, L, L, L

L, W, L, W

Key Players

Nicholas Pooran (SRH): Ahead of their last game Pooran said that he could have won SRH a couple more matches but ran out of partners. Pooran has recently been made the white-ball captain of the West Indies and a statement like that makes his ambitions clear. He has to deliver in the final game for SRH if he wishes to take over the mantle of Kane Williamson someday.

Kagiso Rabada (PBKS): Kagiso Rabada’s resurgence as a powerplay bowler has been a lovely watch. He is the third highest wicket-taker in the IPL with 22 wickets and will look to finish the season on a high.

Probable Playing XIs

Sunrisers Hyderabad
Abhishek Sharma, Priyam Garg, Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Washington Sundar, Romario Shepherd, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Umran Malik, T Natarajan

Punjab Kings
Jonny Bairstow, Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal (c), Liam Livingstone, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Harpreet Brar, Rishi Dhawan/Ishan Porel, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh


UttarPradeshLive.Com Home Click here

Subscribe to Our YouTube, Instagram and Twitter – TwitterYoutube and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!