Russia banned UK airlines last week after Britain banned the country’s leading carrier Aeroflot.

Russia bans airlines from 36 countries including Britain and Germany

Airlines will only be able to enter Russian airspace with a special permit (Representational photo)


Russia has announced that it is banning flights by airlines from 36 countries, including the UK and Germany, in response to a number of restrictions on their planes.

Moscow’s statement comes as Russian airlines are now unable to enter the airspace of most European countries as well as Canada.

Its list includes Jersey, a UK dependency, and Gibraltar, a British overseas territory.

Russia’s Civil Aviation Authority said the ban was being brought in “as a retaliatory measure to the ban by European states on flights by civil aviation operated by Russian airlines or registered in Russia”.

Airlines will only be able to enter Russian airspace with a special permit.

Last week Russia banned UK airlines as Britain banned the country’s major carrier Aeroflot as well as private jets.

The European Union announced on Sunday that it was closing its airspace to Russian aircraft, including private jets.

These measures would mean airlines would have to take longer detours on some routes, potentially increasing the cost of tickets.


UttarPradeshLive.Com Home Click here

Subscribe to Our YouTube, Instagram and Twitter – TwitterYoutube and Instagram.

Leave a Reply