European Union Countries List 2023 Members List and Powers


Europe’s European Union (EU) consists of 27 international locations shaped after World War II. The first batch of countries joined the European Union in 1957, together with Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands. Following the United Kingdom, Denmark and Ireland joined in 1973. ten countries joined In the mid-Nineteen Eighties Greece, Spain, Portugal, Austria, Finland and Sweden joined in 1981, 1986 and 1995 respectively.

european union international locations checklist 2023

The European Union is international, governing financial, social and safety insurance policies in 27 European international locations. In the early twenty first century, Central and Eastern Europe grew to become a part of the European Union. The United Kingdom, one of many founding members of the European Union, left the union in 2020. Twenty-eight international locations have been added to the UN since 2004, together with two in 2007, Croatia in 2013, and 9 in 2004. On 23 June 2016, the United Kingdom left the European Union.

It is a indisputable fact that the European Union got here into existence due to the Maastricht Treaty of November 1, 1993. A single forex (the euro), an ordinary international and safety coverage, and a better stage of cooperation in issues of immigration, asylum, and judicial issues. In 2012, the European Union received the Nobel Peace Prize for selling peace and democracy in Europe.

Powers of the international locations of the European Union

Country accession date
Austria January 1, 1995
belgium March 25, 1957
Bulgaria January 1, 2007
Croatia July 1, 2013
Cyprus May 1, 2004
Czech Republic May 1, 2004
Denmark January 1, 1973
Estonia May 1, 2004
Finland January 1, 1995
France March 25, 1957
Germany March 25, 1957
Greece January 1, 1981
Hungary May 1, 2004
Ireland January 1, 1973
Italy March 25, 1957
Latvia May 1, 2004
lithuania May 1, 2004
Luxembourg March 25, 1957
malta May 1, 2004
Netherlands March 25, 1957
poland May 1, 2004
Portugal January 1, 1986
romania January 1, 2007
Slovakia May 1, 2004
Slovenia May 1, 2004
spain January 1, 1986
Sweden January 1, 1995

In 1957, Germany, France, Italy, Belgium, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and different international locations joined the European Union, a grouping of 27 international locations after World War II. In 1973, Denmark, the United Kingdom and Ireland joined the union. EC membership was first gained by Greece in 1981, adopted by Spain and Portugal in 1986 and Austria, Finland and Sweden in 1995. It grew to twenty-eight with the addition of 9 international locations in 2004, two extra in 2007, and Croatia in 2013. The United Kingdom left the European Union on 23 June 2016.

azores Portugal Atlantic Ocean
Canary Islands spain Atlantic Ocean
French Guiana France South America
Guadeloupe France caribbean
Madeira portugal Atlantic Ocean
Martinique France caribbean
Mayotte[13] France Indian Ocean
reunion France Indian Ocean
Saint Martin France caribbean

In addition to the European Union, 19 international locations share a forex union with the eurozone, which makes use of the euro as its official forex. Citizens of these 22 international locations can journey freely throughout the Schengen space. The European Union additionally contains some international locations that aren’t members of the European Union, reminiscent of Norway, Iceland, and Switzerland. The area operated as a single nation has a uniform visa coverage for worldwide journey.

Full checklist of European international locations members 2023

As a political and financial union based mostly on the founding treaties, the European Union, with its 27 member states, shares the advantages and obligations of membership. According to their treaties, a few of their authorities duties are shared with the EU, however not all. The state authorities and the union should vote unanimously for sure union insurance policies; For others a certified majority is critical.

list of european union countries

The European Union is exclusive amongst different worldwide organizations due to its obligations and shared sovereignty. The ECJ dominated in 1964 that member states are topic to their very own authorized mandate, because the founding treaties present a authorized binding and supreme mandate. The Subsidiarity Principle is among the founding rules of the Federation, which stipulates that selections can solely be made collectively in the event that they can’t be taken individually.

Besides the commissioners of the European Commission, there are different notable options of membership within the European Union. These teams embody members appointed by member states; However, the members don’t characterize the pursuits of their states; Instead, they characterize the pursuits of all states taking part within the course of.

UttarPradeshLive.Com Home Click here

Subscribe to Our YouTube, Instagram and Twitter – TwitterYoutube and Instagram.

Previous articleDifferent types of Indian Navy Uniforms
Next articleAKNU Time Table 2023 UG,PG 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th Sem Exam Date
UttarPradeshLive.Com provides latest important updates about recruitments, jobs, admit cards, entertainement, personal finance, sports, business ideas and tips, etc.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here