HomeBhojpuriEurope, Canada move to close their skies to Russian planes

Europe, Canada move to close their skies to Russian planes

Russia now widely expects further retaliation against air barriers and other sanctions.

Europe, Canada move to close their skies to Russian planes

Germany and France joined Britain, the Nordics and the Baltic states in announcing the sanctions.

European nations and Canada moved on Sunday to close their airspace to Russian planes, an unprecedented move aimed at pressuring President Vladimir Putin to end his invasion of Ukraine, a move since World War II. The biggest attack on a European state.

The ban on Russian jets comes as the airline industry grapples with the effects of a global pandemic that is still crippling demand for travel.

Germany and France joined Britain in announcing a ban on Russian use of their airspace in the Nordic and Baltic states, a major escalation in a strategy mostly by NATO allies to wage an economic war against Putin in retaliation for the invasion.

The United States-led West also unveiled severe financial sanctions against Russia, calling its attack on Ukraine a “special operation” to eliminate the Kiev “junta”, capture dangerous nationalists and destroy Ukraine’s military. ” Said.

Russia now widely expects further retaliation against air barriers and other sanctions. It has responded to the ban on European airspace as soon as possible with orders of its own, except for airlines from Britain, Bulgaria and Poland.

Without access to Russia’s airways, experts say carriers face southbound flights while also avoiding areas of tension in the Middle East – adding significant time and cost.

“France is closing its airspace to all Russian aircraft and airlines starting this evening,” French Transport Minister Jean-Baptiste Jebbari said in a tweet.

Earlier, Germany’s transport ministry said it would close airspace to Russian planes and airlines for three months starting Sunday, except for humanitarian aid flights.

Canada also said on Sunday that it has closed its airspace to Russian aircraft with immediate effect.

Air Canada said it “does not operate to destinations in Ukraine or Russia, and at all times, we comply with all airspace restrictions in accordance with Transport Canada and the FAA (US Federation Avian Administration).”

The Nordic countries Sweden, Finland, Denmark and Iceland made similar announcements, following previously announced closures by Britain, Poland, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic and Romania. The Baltic countries Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia are also closing their airspace to Russian aircraft.

“It is now absolutely necessary to proceed with further tactile measures to isolate Russia,” Swedish EU minister Hans Dahlgren told public service Radio SR.

Finland’s Transport and Communications Minister Timo Harakka said in a tweet late Saturday that Finland, which shares a long land border with Russia, was preparing for a similar shutdown.

(Except for the title, this story has not been edited by UttarPradeshLive.Com staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)


UttarPradeshLive.Com Home Click here

Most Popular

Recent Comments

error: Content is protected !!